The widest smile I didn’t dream

Hello everyone,

It has been such a painfully long time since my last post and I apologise. Sadly, the thing about good literature (hopefully something I contribute to!) is that it’s impossible to force it. So I spend my days walking around, trying to bump into something that inspires me. It will come, I know this ๐Ÿ™‚

In the mean time, I received an email that brought me the purest dose of happiness I remember. I had applied for a creative writing workshop that was to be held in Lagos for 10 days, and taught by the queen of African literature, Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie. Any African writer could apply. Weeks had gone by, and I hadn’t received a response, so I took it on the chin, and accepted the defeat as a learning process.

But, lazily checking my phone today, I never expected this email from the queen herself:

“Dear Ehae,

Thank you for applying to the FARAFINA TRUST creative writing workshop.
Your entry was one of the final shortlist of fifty from about eight
hundred and fifty entries received.
All fifty showed immense promise.
Sadly, we had to select only twenty four because we don’t have the
resources to accommodate every writer on the shortlist.

I want to let you know how much I enjoyed reading your entry- and to
send my regards for your continued writing.

Best regards,

Chimamanda Adichie”

You win some, you lose some. And even when it seems like you lost, you may have actually won ๐Ÿ™‚

I will be back soon.

Love,

Inktippeddreamer.xxx

5 responses to “The widest smile I didn’t dream

  1. Congrats…more recognition is on its way.

  2. Kanyinsola Abiona

    aww amaze! that’s so nice hun xx

  3. Do u remember in Lagoon when a lot of us applied for a literary competition (organised by British Embassy…I think) n u were one of d few students dat got recognition?
    You r climbing d ladder of literary success fast, Ehae! Kudos!
    Soon….very soon, d world will acknowledge you as a literary genius!
    Well done dear!

  4. “the thing about good literature (hopefully something I contribute to!) is that itโ€™s impossible to force it. So I spend my days walking around, trying to bump into something that inspires me. It will come, I know this”

    Isn’t that true? I know you do fiction, which is different from my field. But even in critical analysis of the real world you need inspiration. I haven’t read or written anything since August, but since October the faucet has slowly been turning itself back on and I now have a desire to read and write.

    Anyway, should have sent her an email back telling her that her writing isn’t all that, including ways she could have made Purple Hibiscus and Half of a Yellow Sun more readable.

    …burn bridges and piss in the water below.

    Yup, that’s my motto!

So, what do you think?

